image image image image image

I had a walk along the beach this evening and was as usual collecting pebbles. And I was remebering these beautiful images of pieces of art created by the wonderful Andy Goldsworthy. Anyway, later, after a rather large brandy and while chatting with my amazing, fabulous, ever encouraging  and inspiring new friend and fellow language student ‘K’ I decided on the title of this blog, I hope you enjoy it…

Tonight I want to talk about language, but not in the way that you think. Yes I could go on and on about how exciting and interesting it is to be living in a foreign country and every day learning new words and expressions. I could talk about my daily trips to my favourite local cafe and how my ‘Carajillo’ (the most delicious combination of a shot of espresso mixted with a generous amount of brandy) not only helps immesurably when trying to learn 17 tenses of a verb but also comes with a delicious little malted biscuit and a small packet of white sugar on the back of which is written an expression in spanish which I have to try to translate in order to gain the approval of the waitress who will then, and only then, serve me another. Today’s expression was ‘El sabio siempre quiere aprender, el ignorante siempre enseñar’ which means ‘The wise always want to learn, the ignorant always want to teach’. How very true I thought to myself, and very much the reason why I never much enjoyed school ironically considering the geek I have become in later life.

I could also tell you how, during many late night chats on Grindr, I discovered that the Spanish guys use the word ‘Rabo’ (meaning tail) for cock, which I found throughly amusing! And also how easy it is to confused the word ‘Polla’ (also meaning cock) with the word ‘Pollo’ (meaning chicken). I have almost, on many osccasions, ordered myself cock and chips! Hummm… Extra mayonnaise anyone?

Tonight, however, I wanted to talk about how language connects us. What I have found, aside from the many nouns, verbs and adjectives, is that learning another language not only connects us with the people and the enviroment around us, but also teaches us about ourselves. I find myself suddenly feeling very humble and very much childlike in this strange and wonderful place which moves at it’s own pace and where everything I have known in the past has no meaning anymore. But rather than feeling lost, I feel free. I genuinely feel like a six year old child again looking at the world with fresh eyes. And it is beautiful.

Every morning I can’t help but stare in awe at the majestic mountains that rise up like mythical stone warriors in the distance and to be enchanted by the intense shades of blues and greens of the sea, to be captivated by the beauty of the sun kissed olive skin of the men as they pass by in the street sometimes glancing back with just a hint of a smile in their eyes (even the ones pushing buggies!). Spain is everything I always wanted it to be, and so much more.

Every night I go for a swim before climbing into crisp sheets with a fan to cool me at the foot of my bed. There is a shadow from one of the larger palm trees in the garden which stretches out across the lawn and always hides a very large toad who comes out for his nighly supper of bugs. Every night I just about manage to avoid stepping on him before slipping quietly into the luke warm water to float and gaze up at the night sky which is usually filled with stars and the odd planet. The water usually has the most wonderful effect on my cock which demands my attention as soon as I have returned dripping wet to my patio doors. I pull off my speedos and stroke him until my belly is sprayed with creamy white spunk.. in Spanish they call it ‘Leche’ meaning milk.

And then it’s time to sleep. I long for the night when I dream in Spanish and then I will know I have achieved what I am here to achieve.

Buenos Noches Mis Amigos. Sweet dreams, Aaron xx

